NP link   HESTA Logo_Industry LockUp_RGB


HESTA Nurse Practitioner of the Year   

The ACNP flagship award, Nurse Practitioner of the Year, is proudly sponsored by HESTA

The awardee will have demonstrated outstanding qualities in the areas of clinical work, mentoring and leadership.  



  • $2000 monetary award to support the individual’s Nurse Practitioner development
  • 1 x Year of ACNP membership  
  • 1 x ACNP 2023 National Conference Registration



  1. Be registered with NMBA as a Registered Nurse with NP endorsement and be working as a NP
  2. Demonstrates a contribution to the ACNP and/or the Nurse practitioner profession
  3. Excellence in clinical care and patient outcomes
  4. Evidence of mentoring and professional leadership to others in the clinical team
  5. Evidence of participation in research or quality improvement activities 
  6. Other attributes contributing to the worthiness of the award being bestowed



  • Scholarship Nomindations open 1 April 2022

  • Scholarship Nominations close 30 June 2022

  • Recipients are notified before the announcement 

  • Official presentation at the 2022 ACNP National Conference in Sydney. 



2022 Application Form - HESTA NP of the Year


2021 Recipient

  • Dr Leanne Brown - Renal Nurse Practitioner, QLD

Leanne Brwon

Dr Leanne Brown is a Nurse Practitioner for Cape York Kidney Team.  Leanne is recognised nationally as an expert in renal nursing and was awarded the Continuous Quality Improvement Award with the Cape York Kidney Care Program.  Leanne completed her PhD in Chronic Kidney Disease and in 2019 received the Emerging Researcher Award by Palliative Care Queensland. Leanne is always working to improve the health and wellbeing of clients with chronic kidney disease living in Cape York. She has improved how Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island clients access kidney care; improved education and the data reflects improved outcomes for hypertension management and attendance.

Leanne is a strong leader who inspires the people she works with.  She loves to educate everyone on learning about the kidneys and regularly speaks at conferences and courses about kidney related issues. Leanne’s nominator states “You just have to be in the clinics to see how busy and how well attended their clinics are to see the outcomes Leanne and her team is achieving. Leanne spends time with everyone at and educates them on how we can improve our care on the ground in the communities. The program has only been running a short while, but already outcomes are improving, and Leanne has a big part to play in that.  It doesn’t matter how busy she is, she always has time to stop and answer questions, teach others and listen.”

2020 Recipient

  • Carol Douglas – Aged & Palliative Care Nurse Practitioner from WA

Carol Douglas

Carol works as a Residential Care Line Nurse Practitioner at The Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital in Perth.  Carol’s role included the creation of the NP led sustainable RCL outreach service model and was designed to prevent avoidable presentations to the Emergency Department.  Carol has expert clinical skills and is shown to provide excellence in clinical care and patient outcomes.  Carols demonstrated evidence of mentoring and leadership both during her clinical time and through her role in developing local and national Governance frameworks. Carol is also a member of the WA ACNP Committee and is involved in other peak bodies and was thought by the Awards Committee to be a very worthy recipient of the award.  Congratulations Carol.


2019 Recipient

  • Chris Helms, Primary Healthcare Nurse Practitioner, ACT

NP of the year 2019     

Recipient Chris Helms (right) with 2018 recipient Tash Jennings (left)

Chris Helms has worked tirelessly to improve and support the role of Nurse Practitioners in Australia.   Over the last 12 months Chris has completed his PhD in an area of research which will improve the implementation of the NP role in Australia, by developing meta-specialties of practice. Chris has continued to represent the role of NPs on the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia, on the Nurse Practitioner Reference Group as part of the review of Medicare and Chris also became a fellow of the ACNP in 2013.   Congratulations Chris. 

Past Recipients

2018 - Tash Jennings - Emergency and Acute Care Victoria

2017 - Tom Crowley SA

2016 - Saroja Nazareth WA

2015 - Lesley Salem - Rural & Remote NSW

2013 - Margo Asimus - Wound Management NSW

2012 - Laura Black - WA